Pilgrim Hall Museum maintains and exhibits the Nation’s preeminent collection of Pilgrim possessions. The Museum has been open and collecting objects, books, and documents since 1824. It was founded by the Pilgrim Society, which was chartered in 1820, two hundred years after the Pilgrims’ arrival in Plymouth. The museum’s founders were only a couple of generations away from the residents of the first permanent English settlement in New England. Pride in the new United States and its history, combined with honor for the Pilgrims motivated the museum’s founders and donors to begin the Museum’s collection.
Pilgrim Hall Museum displays the collection in three galleries, telling the enduring story of the Pilgrims and the Wampanoag. The Main and Lower Galleries are located in the original 1824 portion of the museum building. Temporary exhibitions on wide-ranging topics are displayed in the PIDC Changing Exhibition Gallery.
Please enjoy exploring a selection of objects from Our Collection.
Past temporary exhibitions and on-line only Exhibits may be visited here.
Information on Rights & Reproductions of images from the Pilgrim Hall Museum collections is available.